coming up for air

i’m going on down
to the beauty shop
for a face – lift
redo
my body
going down

i’m going on down
to the station
passing away
these dreams are
getting me down

don’t call me tuesday
i’ll be down already
on monday

i’m going on down
to fashion square
for a costume
to hide
these tears
are getting me down

each time
i hang it up
my coat falls off
this nook
down to the floor

i’m going on down
yes i am
no use telling me
anchors hold you up
’cause i know they
pull you down
when you bury them

i’m going down these stairs
don’t push me up
i’m too heavy
faltering down these stairs
don’t block my way
i’ll bruise you

fainting on your shoulder
you wade me through
the icicles

you carry me
like a cross

and slowly
i breathe again

2/27/1981

Leave a Reply

