Every woman has a story

I know a woman who served you cake
you needled her about woman’s work.
I know a woman who’s eating cake –
She wouldn’t be silent, she kept her worth.

I know a woman nearly drowned by water.
You took her head you held it under.
I know a woman who rose from the dead
She struck like lightening, she roared like thunder.

I know a woman with a knife at her throat
who said I do though she didn’t.
I know a woman who didn’t quit.
She worked, she lived, she survived it.

I know a woman – our neighbor’s spouse
she was beaten black and blue.
I know a woman who left that spouse.
She wasn’t murdered, she lived her life.

I know a woman at twelve years old-
they nearly married off.
I know a woman who screamed and hollered.
She pitched a fuss, she saved herself.

You ask me why I came today
I’m telling you this is true.
I know a woman with a tale to tell,
I know this woman, you bet I do.
And yes, you know her too.

1/25/2017

Leave a Reply

