I will not change

I will not change
I may get stouter,
shorter, grayer,
but I will not change.

I may move on
to other places,
situations, heartaches
and defeats,
but I will not change.

I may get lonely,
crossed and overlooked –
the snake may cross my path
dragging me down with him,
but I will not change.

Moodiness may haunt me,
surround me in my sleep,
cloud my waking hours –
the unicorn ever at my side but –
I will not change.

You can cut me,
beat me, desert me,
and take everything I have.

You can kill me.
But I will not change.

4/17/83

Leave a Reply

